Topic of the Week: NewsU- Cleaning Your Copy

5 02 2010

This past week I have been reflecting on an activity that I had to do in class. I had to complete a lesson at  NewsU called Cleaning Your Copy. The lesson brought me through four main topics such as grammer, AP style, punctuation, and spelling. All of these are not my favorite thing to learn or work with, but I am a PR/Journalism major so I pretty much have to. The lesson took me about two hours to complete and had mass amounts of information all with just one lesson. It was very beneficial, but so much to take in.

I learned that all the tiny details count more than I could have imagined. Numbering is different is all sorts of situations like addresses and counting. Punctuation always comes into account and can easily be placed wrong if you are not paying attention.

A quiz was placed at the beginning of the lesson and at the end of the lesson. As I went through and sis the first one at the beginning, I did pretty well. It was multiple choice and that is usually not bad. Once i reached the end of the lesson and had to do the end quiz, my scores dropped. I did absolutely horrible. It was because this time I had to write everything out correct instead of picking and choosing an answer. I was very suprised to see how poorly I did, but it all takes practice. It was very beneficial for me to do the lesson and I would like to not really learn more about everything, but I would love to practice and understand everything better. Anymore information might make my head go crazy. Oh the joys of being a college student!

Well until next time…

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

